Dreams

Dreams have been a writer’s best friend since writing began. Dreams have been written down and interpreted before books were produced. They are the easiest way to begin novels, picture, music, and poems.

In novels, however, it is the structure of the story, unless your mind can create the whole tale in your head like the now famous author Stephanie Meyers.

First of all, you must remember the dream. A dream will not stay in your memory even if you recite it to yourself a hundred times. You need to jot it down somewhere. It could be a dream journal, voice recorder, or even typed out if you run the computer nearest to you and you have it on the whole night. The catch is though you need to write these dreams down in the first moment of conscious.

Trying to remember dreams is the hardest step though. I have tried several methods on remembering dreams and there is no correct way to do this. I have tried to force myself awake right after REMs with the total concentration of my mind in the sleep process. The problem is half the time I wake up without remembering the dream, or couldn’t fall asleep to do it. The other way of remembering the dreams is trying to say, “I will remember my dream.” Although, you need to say this right before you fall asleep and it needs to be out loud. This works half the time.

However, I needed to make my dreams appear on paper and the whole dream journal wasn’t working. I didn’t want to move when I was comfy under my blankets. So I do a form of meditation that lets me enter my subconscious mind and retrieve information or create my own story right there. This ended up being the best way for me to do this, due to me being able to write my dream/story down while still in that mind set. The only problem I have with this, though, is I don’t hear phone rings, and if someone approaches me, I freak out.

There are several ways to bring a dream to life. There are many methods of bringing that subconscious thought into the light.  It could vary from person to person, and even day by day.

After you figure a way to bring the dream to life there are a couple of ways to write it down. The first way is to get a book on interpretations of pictures and the whole dream itself. There is no right book in my opinion for this, and it is all from your point of view.

The second way to write a dream down is just write it the way you see it. You can always change this and that when you put it to paper, but write the whole dream out, or voice record it the way it occurred when you were asleep.

This is fun and challenging to step into your own subconscious mind to bring dreams and stories out. This creates wonderful ideas and tales. Dreams are a magical part of life that shows us imaginative concepts and plots. So why not go try making some in that brain that is well tucked behind the clouds. One more thing though, don’t forget to share it with others these attempts you’ve made.

Published in: on March 7, 2010 at 03:34  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://andrewmckay87.wordpress.com/2010/03/07/dreams/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

