The Last Distraction

 The day started like any other day that I had to go to work as a public safety officer.  I hate mornings and try to only do things at night.  Well now I am sitting here writing an article instead of real work and not reading a book I want to read from Blaze, Take Me If You Dare, by Candace Havens.  
           I have been trying to read her book now for awhile, due to reading her paranormal series featuring the Caruthers sisters, they were excellent short reads.  It really showed how an author can get to the point without boring the reader.  Who can resist a strong sexy female group (don’t forget I am a male)?
            I am not writing this article because of the awesome books she writes, but writing about how I keep putting things in my way.  I am still trying to finish my first book on the writing part.  I should just finish it and stop thinking about other things.  I keep getting sidetracked. I know it is common to get sidetracked, but really everyone out there needs to slow things down, one thing at a time.  If I am up on a tee box, I am not thinking about the next shot or the next hole.  I am thinking about the one thing I need to do right now.  Put the ball in this spot and that is it.  Yeah before the shot I might consider where the best second shot will be, but that is all planned out, and now I need to concentrate on one thing and that one thing is hitting the ball where I want it.  In writing we have the pre shot routine, but sometime we get going to fast, or to slow and we never actually leave the pre-shot routine.  I was trying to write an outline for each chapter, and that got me bored.  In my opinion the whole book plot should be outlined or you let the characters work them out.  All the fine details come in during the natural swing.  You don’t need to think about it right now. 
            Sometimes though, we do end up get distracted by noise, and the biggest mistake in golf is if the noise enters the mind, most golfers just hit the ball and then the ball goes someplace that you don’t want it to be.  Same in writing, sometimes in the middle of the story you need to stop, if you get distracted by a movie or another book we are reading, we sometimes accidently mix the two stories up.  I didn’t understand when Candace Havens, wrote me and said, “Write as fast as you can.”  I now understand that the faster it goes less distractions come in the way.  Then Dr. Stacia D. Kelly told me almost the same bit of advice but more to it.  The end of her saying was something to the effect of, “the editing process is where you get to fine tune the story.” 
            If you go with what the authors have said, the next time you write, you should finish faster, and be happier with your work.  On a side note, yes I love that I again got to compare writing to golf.

Published in: on April 18, 2010 at 03:33  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://andrewmckay87.wordpress.com/2010/04/18/the-last-distraction/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

